Tags

, , , , ,

So we are definitely having our April showers at the moment and Spring is getting into full flow so why not brighten up your day with a peek at this Blooming Marvellous post!!

Flowers, I’m no expert on them but for the right event, Weddings especially they can be a vital element in making that day visually appealling.
I came across a blog post on Interflora yesterday and it was all about the flower wedding trends of 2012 which I found interesting especially as I have no clue when it comes to flowers!

 

I love tradition but I also love something quirky and different to the usual, on the article these flowers have been recommend for those you want to steer away from the norm but also inkeep with season to help in lowering costs.

Starting with Spring, Muscari also known as Grape Hyacinth. This has to be one of my faves that has been picked as it reminds me of Bluebells (Although I’m sure you could put bluebells into a bouquet?!) but I also love the vividness of the colour and think this would look amazing in any bouquet!
The Muscari tends to flower from April to May, and I hope you agree a delightful flower for a delightful spring day!

Source: mayesh.com via Jo on Pinterest

 

 Late Spring you can count on the Ixia to bring something a little special to any bouquet or table arrangement. I think these flowers have a vintage feel so would be perfect for a vintage themed wedding. What do you think? These flowers really give me a woodstock, 60’s vibe….

Source: google.com.au via Jo on Pinterest

 

 

Lily of the Valley is an early summer flower that would add elegance to any early summer wedding. Apparently it is an inspiration to perfumers, I feel this would look beautiful in an all white/cream bouquet.

 

Another summer flower is the Agapanthus. The come commonly in shade of blue or purple but they are available in pink and white. Summer at its finest!

Source: Uploaded by user via Jo on Pinterest

 

A flower fit for the autumnal season is the bronze coloured Calla Lillie. These really suit this season, mix them with reds, yellow and oranges and you’ll really have a Autumn bouquet!

Source: Uploaded by user via Jo on Pinterest

 

 The Helleborus is a flower for the winter bride (Don’t you think it sounds just like a Harry Potter spell?) It comes in a variety of colours and like the Ixia I think these give a really vintage feel. They also remind me of Alice in Wonderland…

Source: google.com via Jo on Pinterest

 

On the post Karen Barnes also gives her opinions on what style of bouquets will be big this year.

Source: weddingchicks.com via Jo on Pinterest

 

Vintage tones in bouquets look set to be popular this year and possibly staying strong over the next couple of years. Including ivory and green colours, which has been influenced by last years royal wedding.

 

Blowsey Roses (I love these as an alternative to the classic rose!), Herbs and british grown flowers are also set to take wedding bouquets and arrangements by storm, so keep an eye for these if your attending or having a wedding this year!

 

Very pretty, don’t you agree? I would love to hear your thoughts on this years flower wedding trends, especially if you have good knowledge with flowers or your a florist. I am also looking to do a monthly flower feature so if your a florist and would like to help out, please get in touch at mywhimsyways@yahoo.com I would love to hear from you!

Hope your having a Blooming Marvellous day!!

Jo xoxo